Information

How to use Time Machine to backup your Mac

The backup information on a computer is paramount. If something happens to your hard drive or something to let the computer unusable, better get ready to say goodbye to all your information. That is why it is always advisable to backup your data whenever you can. How to use Time Machine to backup your Mac, read carefully.

In OS X, Apple added a very useful function to make a backup of information that needs to be configured only once and thereafter copies of information are automatic. The function is called Time Machine, and maybe you’ve seen in a menu on your computer but do not know its purpose.

To use Time Machine, you need two things: first – as may deduct – is a Mac; the second is an external hard drive or Time Capsule , the latter is a device that Apple sells exclusively to make backups of information, but also has secondary network functions. I recommend using an external drive because it is smaller and much cheaper; I also recommend it an SSD (solid state) rather than an HDD (hard disk), but that decision is now yours.

The external hard drive will stop there doing backups. I recommend having a large device; 500GB minimum.

How to use Time Machine to backup your Mac

Once you have your external hard drive and the Mac to which you do the backup, follow these steps:

  • Connect the external drive to the computer
  • On the Mac, open the System Preferences panel and select the Time Machine option
  • From the menu, select the name of the external drive for backup NOTE: I recommend activating the “Encrypt Backup Disk” option, so you add a password to the backup and only the user’s known and may have access to information supported.
  • Accepts and starts the backup

Once you’ve added the password and chosen the hard drive for backups, the Mac will display a notice that will begin shortly the first data backup (which is usually the largest). After the first backup, Time Machine will do automatic backups every 24 hours, as long as the hard drive is connected to the Mac

When the hard disk is full backup, Time Machine will delete the last copies, freeing up space automatically and keeping only the last backup.

Copies of Time Machine can not only be used to recover lost data. When you have a new Mac or one that was restored from scratch, the first boot the computer can connect the hard disk used for Time Machine and take copies files to copy important documents. Read more Top5APK’s post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *